Toddlers: March 27, 2012

A “Things That Go” theme:


Toot Toot Beep Beep By: Emma Garcia

This has to be added to my list of favorite read alouds. It works so well with toddlers and 3-year-olds. My favorite part is the unique illustrations. I also like the ending when all of the cars are asleep in the parking lot (spoiler). It also teaches some hefty vocabulary words! We did this book with flannel board cars and counted them all at the end.


Who is Driving? By: Leo Timmers

I found this randomly on the shelves. It was ok. It features a lot of different animals driving different vehicles to different places. I paper-clipped some pages because it’s too long. What I didn’t really like was a question at the end, “But who will get there first?” There is no answer, the book just ends, also they’re all going different places so it doesn’t make any sense. Oh, well.


Down by the Station By: Jennifer Riggs Vetter

This is a play on the original “Down by the Station” song, and it includes many different settings for different types of vehicles: a race track for race cars, a launch pad for rockets, etc. I sang this book and paper-clipped a couple pages to shorten it a bit. Mel’s Desk (a popular storytime blog) suggests singing books during storytime to increase print awareness.

Leave a comment